A Gloomy Day, A Different Apple Adventure

So you’ve picked your Ontario apples. Well, now it’s time to eat them!

Don’t get me wrong, I love a sweet, crisp apple all on it’s own, but there’s something about baking them into a pie or bread that makes them all the better.

For the last couple weeks, I’ve been craving potato chips like a middle aged man during the Superbowl; however, as per the doctor’s orders, I’m not allowed to eat any of the processed snack foods you can find in the supermarket so my craving has gone unsatisfied.

That’s why, on this rainy Thursday, I’ve decided to take my fresh picked Ontario apples and make my own Apple Chips! A healthy, fall alternative to my much loved potato chip!

If you have some free time, I’ve posted the recipe below, and you can try them yourself. They’re so simple even the kids can help!

IMG_1423

Apple Chips

2 medium sized apples (crisp apples such as Gala or Braeburn work best for this recipe)
Cinnamon (to taste)

Preheat oven to 275 degrees Celcius.

Core apples with an apple corer. Slice each apple into approximately 15 thin slices, as evenly as possible.

On two baking sheets, place a cooling rack on top of each and lay apple slices evenly on each rack. This will allow heat to circulate around the entire chip. Sprinkle with cinnamon (if you like things a bit sweeter, and depending on the type of apple you’re using, sprinkle with a bit of brown sugar — I like to brush each slice with a bit of melted butter before doing this as well).

Place both racks in the preheated oven and bake for 1 hour. Flip slices halfway through and rotate the racks for even cooking. Once slices are dry they can be removed from the oven to cool.

If you’re a big fan of dipping your chips, there are some great fruit dips you can find online that could go wonderfully with these chips.

The great thing about these chips is you can really make them your own. Play around with the toppings and create your own flavours, just like a potato chip. It really is a great way to enjoy your produce, even after you leave the farm.

And they make your house smell great!

About heatherannsiddall

I'm a Canadian girl living in Ontario. I love exploring where I'm from! There are so many things to see and do, eat and drink. I want to share it all with anyone who is interested in getting out there to try new things.
This entry was posted in Indoor Activities, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Gloomy Day, A Different Apple Adventure

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal apple muffins | Urban Gurls

Leave a comment